THE FEDERALIST SOCIETY



Presents

The Twenty-Fourth Annual Symposium on Law and Public Policy:

Law and Freedom

February 25 and 26, 2005 Harvard Law School

The staff acknowledges the assistance of the following members of the Federalist Society in preparing this Symposium for publication:

National Editor Joshua D. Davey Harvard Law School

Executive Editors

Jason A. Adkins University of Minnesota Law School

Gregory S. McNeal Case Western Reserve University School of Law

Zachary Jacobs Columbia Law School

Matthew J. Kleiman Duke University School of Law

> Irina Manta Yale Law School

Daniel P. McGuire Ave Maria School of Law

Brian P. Morrissey Notre Dame Law School

Matthew Muggeridge Ave Maria School of Law

> Eugene Nardelli Yale Law School

David C. Presser Northwestern University School of Law Harvard Law School Raj Parekh

University of Pennsylvania Law School

Aaron Nielson

General Editors

Susannah E. Prucka University of Maryland School of Law

> Kristopher Ritter Notre Dame Law School

Amir Hassan Sadaghiani Notre Dame Law School

> Daniel J. Sullivan Harvard Law School

Jessica Erin Tannenbaum Notre Dame Law School

Peter M. Tempelis University of Wisconsin Law School

Amy Y. Yeung Duke University School of Law

Rian J. Balfour Duke University School of Law

Anthony Daniel Bianco Notre Dame Law School

William H. Burgess University of Pennsylvania Law School

Heather Ann Cameron Notre Dame Law School

Mark Chorazak Duke University School of Law

Seana Cranston Catholic University of America, Columbus School of Law