## THE FEDERALIST SOCIETY



Presents

The Twenty-Eighth Annual National Student Symposium on Law and Public Policy:

## Separation of Powers in American Constitutionalism

February 27-28, 2009 Yale Law School

The staff acknowledges the assistance of the following members of the Federalist Society in preparing this Symposium for publication:

National Editor

David J. Derusha Harvard Law School

**Executive** Editors

Philip M. Eckelkamp Saint Louis University School of Law

Ben Johnson Yale Law School

Brendan M. Groves Yale Law School

David Morrell Yale Law School

General Editors J. Charles Griggs

Lewis & Clark Law School

Adam Aft George Mason University School of Law

> Carolyn R. Hamilton University of Missouri – Columbia

Gene Patrick Hamilton Washington & Lee University School of Law

Michael R. Harrel Sandra Day O'Connor College of Law, Arizona State University

Marisa Christina Maleck University of Chicago Law School

Aaron T. Martin James E. Rogers College of Law, University of Arizona

Christopher J. Rosina University of Pennsylvania Law School

Prerak Shah University of Chicago Law School

Ricky Shah Gould School of Law, University of Southern California

Timothy T. Silvester George Mason University School of Law

> Meredith Wholley Boston College Law School

Ariel S. Wolf Georgetown University Law Center

Eka Akpakip Georgetown University Law Center

Donald Benedetto Rutgers University School of Law - Camden

Alexander K. Cox University of Virginia School of Law

Shyler Engel Seton Hall University School of Law

> Christopher Grieco Stanford Law School